FROG® @ease® for Bullfrog® Spas

Hot Tub Sanitizer Custom Designed for Bullfrog® Spas

Average Rating: 3 54 Reviews

Making life easier for Bullfrog Spa owners is the goal of this FROG @ease System that conveniently fits between the filter cartridges in most Bullfrog Spas. Cleaner, Clearer and Softer® water is just down the road at your local Bullfrog Spas dealer.  With FROG Minerals and SmartChlor® Technology, you’ll enjoy Fresh Mineral Water®∞ that kills bacteria 2 ways with up to 75%* less chlorine and a lot less work!

Pool Foreground Hot Tub Foreground
@ease 75 Percent Less

Up to 75%* less chlorine with no frustrating yo-yo chlorine levels

Shock Once

Shock only once a month

Self Regulates

Self-regulates for continuous crystal clear water

@ease Easy On

Easy on hot tub surfaces with less odors

@ease Color Match

Single color match for easy reading – exclusively with FROG @ease Test Strips

No Constant Monitoring

No constant monitoring

@ease No Mixing

No mixing chemicals

Money Back Guarantee

Money back guarantee


Another FROG @ease benefit – no cyanuric acid that can lead to problems.

Bullfrog Filter
Bullfrog Filter

Additional Information

The @ease System combines the proven FROG mineral formula for killing bacteria with SmartChlor Technology that maintains a consistently low chlorine level for weeks.

Unlike normal chlorine that is used up when you get in, SmartChlor continues to maintain the same level, which is up to 75%* less than hot tubs using dichlor (standard hot tub chlorine). That’s why we call it self-regulating.  It goes to work when the hot tub needs sanitizing so there are no frustrating yo-yo chlorine levels.  This time-released method is also why less shock is needed to maintain the hot tub.

This technology is so unique it has its own testing method that’s easier than standard test strips.

Load More

In 2 seconds, you can know precisely whether your pH, Total Alkalinity and Hardness are balanced, plus whether or not SmartChlor® needs replacing. Simply dip the FROG @ease Test Strip into the water, remove with the pads facing up and shake once to remove the water on the FROG Test Strips. Then hold it up next to the color chart on the back of the bottle to compare colors.

If the SmartChlor color on the strip is darker than the bottle label, the water is fine. If it is lighter it’s time to replace the Smartchlor Cartridge.

This technology is so unique it has its own testing method that’s easier than standard test strips.

Load More

A new standard for keeping your Hot Tub water crystal clear- continuously.

Less Chlorine

Up to 75%* less chlorine with no frustrating yo-yo chlorine levels.

Less Shocking

Only shock once a month!

Self Regulates

Self-regulates for continuous crystal clear water.

Less Odors

Easy on hot tub surfaces with less odors.

  • Unique form of chlorine that works only with FROG minerals
  • It’s EPA registered
  • Unlike dichlor it’s slow dissolving
  • It’s self-regulating by automatically delivering more free chlorine when needed
  • It maintains a consistent 0.5 – 1.0 ppm free chlorine level at all times

Load More

Load More

* Compared to the minimum ANSI recommended bromine or chlorine level of 2.0 ppm for a hot tub.

∞ For pools and hot tubs.

Newsletter Sign Up
Frog Water Care App

See Our Customer Reviews

  1. Mike Pallot

    Rating: 1

    I bought my Bullfrog hot tub in October and we love it. The experience with refilling the mineral and smartchlor is as other people have said the worst. I live in the Pacific Northwest and of the 11 dealers near me not 1 sells the hot tub specific smartchlor and mineral products required to keep it running. The result is I have to MacGyver a solution using other SmartChlor products for my Bullfrog spa which is unacceptable. What is the solution for customers – or have you continued to sell spas and effectively discontinued manufacture and supply of the hot tub specific smartchlor products? I look forward to hearing your solution. Extremely frustrating. Everyone else is correct in their comments about the irresponsible nature of the frog eas products for bullfrog environmentally. If I had known I would have looked elsewhere.

    • Wayni Tao

      Hi Mike, Thank you for the review, we are sorry to hear that you didn’t have a great experience with our FROG @ease system. We are always evaluating options to be more eco-friendly. As our products are chemicals that are regulated by the EPA, they must meet very strict regulations to protect people. If you could email Dan Mosier at so we could further resolve the issue for you.

  2. Andrea

    Rating: 1

    I have to agree with what everyone has to say. This was an expensive hot tub. This easy maintenance system is a fail when you can not purchase the cartridges easily. Basically, the only place I can get them is on this website. My dealer, Costello’s Ace Hardware in Edgewater, Maryland does not carry them even though they sell a ton of Bull Frog Spas. It does seem quite ridiculous that the cartridges can not simply be refilled. How do I find an easier solution to this chlorine dilemma?

    • Bryan Wall

      Hi Andrea, Thanks for your review. It’s important for us to know how things are working for you so that we can help. We’d love to talk to you because there are many variables when it comes to your hot tub, in order to help you we’d like to find out some specific details. Would you please call Dan Mosier at 800-222-1069 – he’d like to find out more so he can offer solutions. Or email him if it’s easier – He’s looking forward to helping you.

  3. Chris

    Rating: 1

    I bought my BullFrog R7 two years ago and have had the same issues that everyone else is experiencing. The cartridges only last two weeks and the cost is extreme for what you get. Knowing what I know now I would have purchased a different Spa from another company. Does anyone have a recommendations for a dichlor chlorine substitute in lieu of using the SmartChlor system?

    • Bryan Wall

      Hi Chris, Thank you for taking time to write and send a review. We’d like to help but we can only do so if you’ll call or email us – we need to know a few specifics so that we can help; the hot tub size and how you use it are a couple of things, among others, that make a huge difference. We know a lot about chlorine and that going to standard chlorine may solve the issue by maintaining higher levels, but long-term use could cause issues for your hot tub. If you’ll call Dan Mosier at 800-222-0169 he can find our more information and help you. You can email him too – he’s helped lots of people and can give you some great information.

  4. Kyle Brown

    Rating: 1

    I wish I would have done my research on these cartridges before buying a Bullfrog spa. These things do not work at all. I have to spike my hot tub daily or my water becomes gross in a matter of days. They are way over priced for something that doesn’t work at all! Also they are TERRIBLE FOR THE ENVIRONMENT…How do they justify using so much plastic? Make them refillable and make them more reliable. This has to be one of the worst products I have ever used and now I’m forced to use it. WHAT A SHAM!

    • Bryan Wall

      Hi Kyle,

      Thanks for your review – we’re sorry you’re experiencing such difficulty and we want to help. Your situation is certainly unusual. We’d like to learn more and get some details from you so we can help. Dan Mosier, head of customer service, would like to talk with you. He’s got over 11 years of experience helping people with their water care systems. Also, we want you to know that we are actively working on ways to have more eco-friendly solutions. If you will please call or email Dan at 800-222-0169 or he’d like to talk with you about your spa. We’ll send you an email with some more info and a short survey, which will help us better resolve things. Thank you.

  5. John S

    Rating: 1

    Love the spa, hate the cartridges. Same feedback as everyone else. Too much plastic waste, cartridges don’t last long enough and WAY overpriced. Quit telling people its a balance issue. I would think after this much feedback from your customers, you’d actually come up with a solution rather than blaming them.

    • Bryan Wall

      Really appreciate your feedback. Researching ways to make our sanitizers more environmentally friendly is important to us and we have a team working on it. We’d like the opportunity to talk with you about your experience, water balance may or may not be the issue for everyone. Please call Dan at Customer Service 800-222-0169 or email him at He’s got 11+ years of experience with FROG products and helping people with solutions and he’d like to help you too.

  6. Brian

    Rating: 2

    I want to know why I can’t buy these online anywhere that’s practical? These are hard to find especially the mineral cartridge and the authorized dealers don’t keep them in stock as they should. It’s time to make these refillable or I will figure out how myself.

    • Bryan Wall

      Hey Brian, thanks for the review. The things you’ve brought up are important and we’d like to talk with you so we can answer your questions thoroughly. Would you please call or email us? Dan Mosier will take your call or answer your email – he’s the head of Customer Service and he’s logged 11 years of helping people with their hot tubs and pools. You can reach him at 800-222-0169 or email him at

  7. A. Wyllie

    Rating: 1

    I agree with a lot of these other reviews! These cartridges should be made available Online to the public and at a much lower price – THE PRICE FOR THESE CARTRIDGES ARE WAY TOO HIGH WHICH MAKES THE VALUE OF THEM RIDICULOUS!! It’s a total sham that people who’ve bought Bullfrog Spas can only get these cartridges through their dealer and at a ridiculously HIGH price no less!! END THE THEIVERY NOW – it’s BS!!!!

    • Bryan Wall

      Hi A. Thanks for taking time to write a review. We read every review and take each one seroiusly, we hear you about availability and price, and in fact, we’d like to talk to you about this so that we can answer your questions and help resolve these issues – we can see this is important to you. Dan Mosier, head of customer service, is waiting for you to call or email him. You can reach him at 800-222-0169 or

  8. Eric Jones

    Rating: 1

    Bought a bullfrog spa last year and thought the idea of the frog ease cartridges was great. Change them regularly and kept up with ph and all other levels religiously but could not keep my water clear. In the first 3 months I think I changed my water every other week because it would get yellow and nasty. Switched to regular chlorine and I’ve had the same water in the spa since. Don’t waste your money.

    • Bryan Wall

      Hi Eric, much thanks for writing. What you’ve described is not normal. Using standard chlorine long-term could cause issues like irritated skin, strong smell, ineffective sanitization and corrosion on hot tub surfaces and parts. We’re sorry you had a bad expereince and we’d like to talk with you about keeping water clear, and not having to change it so often – as you mentioned. Dan, who’s headed up Customer Service here for over 11 years is really interested in talking with you to find out more about how and why this happened. He’s an expert and can talk in great detail about how to keep hot tub water crystal clean and clear – please call him at 800-222-0169 or email him at – he’s actually waiting to hear from you.

  9. Jay

    Rating: 1

    This is an extremely environmentally irresponsible product. You are unable to refill the cartridges. Just buy more and throw away the plastic! Come one BullFrog, you are better than this. Your spas are great and well thought out. Fix this please! I am currently searching for eco friendly alternatives. You can decide if you want my money or not.

    • Bryan Wall

      Hi Jay, We’re glad to hear from you. We are working hard investigating how to make our products more eco friendly, while continuing to eliminate the need for people to measure out hazardous chemicals. We are EPA-regulated, which means all our products must stick to very strict regulations to protect people. If you would please call or email the head of customer service team, Dan, he can talk about these issues with you. Please email dan at You can also reach him at 800-222-0169

  10. Justin Taylor

    Rating: 1

    We were told when we purchased our spa in November that it would last a month. Like others say it lasts two weeks. Plus the cost is way above what it should be. If that’s what the sales people are telling us this, that should be under warranty. Live up to what you are selling. I’m not happy with how fast it gets used up. After I told the same sales person that it only lasted two weeks she seemed surprised. Then she said I need to supplement with the other chlorine after every use. What’s the point? Back up what you sell. If it doesn’t work fix the problem.

    • Bryan Wall

      Hi Justin, I’m glad you left a review. We’re sorry you’re not happy and would like to talk with you to fix the problem. It’s also really important to us to make sure you get correct information. Send an email to Dan – or call 800-222-0169 He’s helped a lot of people with new hot tubs, and super experienced people too. He can talk about your hot tub and help get your sanitizer working the way it should.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *